sun on sat


It’s a nice sunny day on this Saturday in February. Makes me a little hopeful to know spring will soon be here, a time when I won’t have to worry about how cold it is before I just walk outside.

A few of the people from the cycling club were going to do a ride today, so Hubby and I talked our eldest son and his wife into going with us.

We had SUCH a good time! We did about 10 miles. Hubby did closer to 17 since he rode all the way back home. Show off. *hmph!*

I didn’t think I was going to get to, or be able to, go. First off, my blood sugar was up. Almost 400!!! ARGH!!!!!! Nothing makes me madder than a high blood sugar, especially when it shouldn’t be that high. Anyway, if you exercise when your sugar is above 250, it can make your sugar go even higher instead of dropping it like usual. I know. It doesn’t make sense, but then, neither does diabetes a lot of times. *sigh*

I gave a correction bolus for the high and just resigned myself to not going while Hubby and the kids were adjusting their bikes on the trainer in the house.

Then I started coughing. ARGH!!!!!! I am SICK TO DEATH of this cough!! I had been doing a lot better. Hadn’t really had a bad coughing “fit” in 3-4 days and then got so choked from coughing that I started gagging and crap. SO tired of this stuff.

ANYhow, I took a big shot of rum in hopes of quieting the cough… that’s AFTER using the nebulizer to no avail and drinking water and several cough drops. Then Hubby informs me that yes, you CAN be arrested for DUI on a bicycle. Oh, great!

Anyway, after deciding I just wouldn’t even try it, my DIL talked me into it, saying that if it got bad, I could just turn back and go to the truck.

Fine!! I’ll go!

I’m so glad I did. I hacked & coughed a little, but nothing horrible during the ride ANNND I didn’t have any issues with my clips either. Not one fall-down! Woohoo!

It reminded me of how much I really love to ride and so, I’m really looking forward to warmer weather and being on the road with my bike again. Hoping the kids are getting more into it now too. They stay so busy it’s hard to find a time when they can go too.

DIL went with me, just the two of us, one day in mid-fall last year and we had a great time other than me getting a flat about 6 miles out and neither of us knowing how to fix it. Nope. Neither one of the guys had bothered to show us how to change a tube! They had just always gone on rides with us, so we never gave it a thought either.

Sheesh! Thankfully, my sweet Hubby could leave work and come help us out. He was so excited that we had gone, and I honestly don’t think he thought we were as far from home as I told him we were. Ha ha.

So, I’m very glad I went riding today, BUT I ended up with another horrible coughing fit tonight, and I think the wind was probably not so good for my ears. I almost have a sore throat, even though the temp was almost 60…Lord willing, I won’t get any sicker, and yes, YES, I’m gonna figure out which doctor I need to see and get something done about this awful cough!

πŸ™‚

2 Thessalonians 1:3 — “We ought always to give thanks to God for you, brothers, as is right, because your faith is growing abundantly, and the love of every one of you for one another is increasing.”

thanks for sharing your comments!

