all the things I leave unsaid


So, I started a post over a week ago about our impromptu vacation. I was going to tell you that we had a nice time, how we went to this huge indoor waterpark with our oldest kiddos. How we even got my dad to go in with us (but not down the water slide) How I was so sore from walking several times up four stories’ worth of stairs to go down these crazy slides. How I got dumped out in the huge funnel/cone/whatsit when I went down with my DIL and freaked myself (& her, I think) out.

inside the funnel, where I got tossed out!

the outside of the funnel at night and NO those lights are NOT visible on the inside!

Wilderness of the Smokies Waterpark

Me, DIL1 & Hubby

But I just couldn’t seem to do it for some reason. Maybe because it was chaos by the time we got home. It started to snow as we headed back. We stopped at a Trader Joe’s to pick up some coffee and amazing triple ginger snaps, so it was coming down pretty good once we got home.

out my back door - Snowmageddon 2015 out my back door

Then, by the first of this week, we got hit with what’s being called Snowmageddon 2015. We have about a foot of snow and at this point in time, frigid temperatures and our governor has declared a state of emergency.

That’s how all four of the kids and hubby together coerced me into going “sledding” on Monday, or maybe Tuesday. I’ve lost track of time now. It was still when the initial snow storm was still in progress. We took our four-wheeler to get us back up the hill faster, but ended up having to push it up and we were all freezing and getting covered with snow so we packed it in once each of us had a turn going down the hill.

A huge blessing::: My boys sort of cooperatively suggested that we all go up to our youngest kiddos’ house and eat chili. They’d fixed a pot earlier that day and Hubby and I had fixed some the day before and had lots of leftovers. So we spent the evening up there, all my kids together for the first time in months. It was so nice and also sad that it was such a momentous thing to me. I mean, perhaps I wish I could take it for granted, if that makes sense? It just struck me that I shouldn’t have to be so extremely excited that my kids would agree to all have a meal and spend a couple of hours together with us. But nevertheless, I was glad to have that time and pray that more times like that will follow and won’t be so far in between.

Anyway, this past week or so, I have fallen back into a cycle of just being totally exhausted, wanting to sleep most of the time and just feeling like crud. I am so sick of it. I just pray that I will get some meds that might help. I need to order more Thrive, which is a program of supplements that seems to really help me with energy and the inflammation/pain in my joints, but it’s so expensive and we can’t afford it right now.

I’m so sick of worrying about money, too. *sigh* But that’s a whole other post, right? I sometimes wonder if it is me having a wrong attitude about money or if somehow God sees us as unfit to handle money. Not that I would disagree. We have failed hugely in the past. And it’s not that I “want” a lot of stuff. I would just like to not have to worry about being able to afford my meds or visits to the doctor!

I’m not sure what brought that on, other than just “the things that bug me” …ha ha.

2 Corinthians 4:7-9 — “7 But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. 8 We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; 9 persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed;”

thanks for sharing your comments!

