God’s place, God’s time…


I’ll try to make this follow-able, understandable, but I can’t promise it will be.  Just do the best you can.  🙂

When I first got on Facebook, I started a group page for graduates from my high school… for the entire 80’s decade.  Yup.  Everyone who graduated from 1980 through 1989.  The school underwent a name change after that when it became South “County” High School because they had build a new high school that was called North “County”.  All of us who went there during the days when it was the only high school in the county were bummed that when you did a search for the school, it would only come up as “South” or “North”.  Hmph.

Anyhow, I ended up with a TON of people on my friend list since anyone who joined had to be my friend since I was determined that a bunch of people outside that time frame not be in the group.  Not to be exclusive necessarily, but because the 80’s were just so cool, y’know.  Ha.

And so, that’s how I ended up with so many “friends”, many who I don’t really know other than they went to my high school in the 80’s.  And that’s how Sasha* ended up on my list.

She’s been on it for quite awhile and I always appreciated her posts.  She seemed like a very committed Christian mother and wife.   We didn’t really interact so much other than to like each other’s stuff and occasionally comment.

Then Saturday happened.

She posted about needing prayer because she was prejudice.  Turns out, none of the people who commented thought that was so.  But because she had got out of a drive-thru lane when she saw a lady in middle eastern style clothing (don’t want this to come up in searches for certain words… overlook my not using the titles for this type of clothing).  Anyhow, I commented that I felt the same way but that didn’t make us prejudice.  There was lots of talk about being cautious and language barriers, etc.  And that was that.

Then a bit later, I posted a link to this (yeah, you need to go read it) and I posted this comment along with it:::

This used to make me insane when i was in school. I have to say, I believe this mother was right on the mark with her response! That teacher should have been disciplined for not making the boy stop. Reminds me of a teacher I had who was beyond inappropriate when a boy was bothering me in class (he was grabbing my pencil away from me during a test) I don’t even remember who the boy was now, but I remember this man’s response when he looked up and saw him snatch my pencil… I won’t put it here because it was just pervy but it makes me sad that I didn’t feel I had anyone to report that to back then. I wish I had at least mentioned it to my parents. Not sure it would have had any sort of result, but I wish I had now. As it was, I just sat there, embarrassed out of my mind and hated that teacher more than usual.

Not long after that, I got a private FB message from her asking who the teacher was.  We messaged back and forth; me giving her the name and her telling me about two incidences that had happened with two other teachers and her frustration that one of them was witnessed by a third teacher who just rolled his eyes and shook his head.  We lamented how things like that were not reported when we were kids and such.  Then her messages just stopped.  I assumed she’d got busy or something.  It wasn’t a big deal, but later I saw she  had commented back on her ‘prejudice’ post that FB messages had stopped working and wondering if I’d got her last message and that she’d like to continue the conversation.  I gave her my email address and soon we were messaging back and forth like long lost friends.

I told her what exactly had been said by the teacher from my post.  [When he looked up to see a boy reaching across the aisle to grab my pencil repeatedly he said, “______”, (using my last name) “if you want to make love to him, go out in the hall.”]

*insert incredulous face here*  Yeah.  I was mortified and didn’t know what to do.  He was a real gem of a fella *SARCASM* normally, so this wasn’t out of character, just a bit more over the top than usual.  That’s when Sasha asked if I’d gotten her message about being kidnapped and raped by a fellow student when she was a freshman!

I was stunned!  Obviously, I had NOT got that one, so she directed me to a status post she’d put up a few weeks ago that I had not seen.  In it she talked about this incident and how it was years before she realized that a crime had been committed against her and how she’d tried to cope as a teen with alcohol and how God had since healed her.  She eventually told me who had done this, both his name and the name of the boy who had helped carried her to the truck and drove.

She said she was hesitant to tell me since I had this man’s wife as an FB friend, so I explained that I didn’t even know this lady.  When she told me who, it struck me that normally, I never see status updates from her.  Either because she doesn’t post often or just because they don’t show in my newsfeed.   But for the past week or two, I’d been seeing these posts from  her about her husband being sick and having to have surgery.  I hadn’t thought anything of it since I don’t know them, but after this revelation, I felt God had put them there.  I don’t know WHY, but for whatever reason, He wanted to me see this info about this man.  And the other thing?  Just that day, the wife had posted a photo of him sitting in a chair in the hospital.  That was the first time I’d ever seen him and I didn’t recognize him.  Perhaps I need to be able to though?  I just don’t know, but for all that to have happened in that order, at that time was just too much.  I don’t believe in coincidences, so I believe, for whatever reason, God orchestrated all that stuff… me seeing those posts, seeing his picture, connecting with Sasha and getting on a subject to where she would share that info with me.

Of course, then there was the additional stuff… like me just pouring out my heart and telling her about all the things I’ve been dealing with lately, even the intimacy issues in my marriage and that I’d started seeing a therapist for depression.  She then sent a reply telling me that she deals with depression too and basically describing me by telling me how she isolates and has no energy, etc.

So, I really wish Sasha didn’t live in Michigan now!  It’s just uncanny how much we have in common while also having such different backgrounds.  And we just connected SO well almost instantly.

God’s pretty amazing the way he does things.

Proverbs 17:17 — A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.”

*not her real name, obvs

One thought on “God’s place, God’s time…

thanks for sharing your comments!

