I like to ride my bicycle…


Seriously, I do.  But man, getting ready to do that can be irritating and frustrating, ya know?

I mean, it’s not like when we were kids… just put on your sneaks and go!  Back when I was a youngun’, there were no helmets, no reflectors, no super-crazy safety concerns… I remember more than once getting my flare-legged pants hung in my chain and having to run pantsless to the house in immortal fear that someone on our rural gravel road would see me running across the yard in my bloomers.  BAHAHA!

if you change the pretty blonde for brown stringy hair and remove the helmet and make the bike less "cool", this is me...

if you change the pretty blonde for brown stringy hair and remove the helmet and make the bike less “cool”, this is me…

So now it’s more embarrassing to be seen before you get on the bike what with the garb required to ride for miles and miles and still be comfortable.  The padded spandex cycling shorts, the funky clip shoes that make you walk funny, the sweatbands and helmets,… distance cycling is NOT in any way connected to fashion, okay?

Observe:

winterroadie

Anatomy of basic cycling garb

Ugly clothing, especially spandex! will usually look better if you are not a big gal like me, so add some flab to these gals to get just a taste of how bad this stuff looks with me in it....

Ugly clothing, especially spandex! will usually look better if you are not a big gal like me, so add some flab to these gals to get just a taste of how bad this stuff looks with me in it….

And so, you can see how cycling is not really about fashion.  Haha!!  Although I would LOVE to have me one of these if they weren’t so expensive…

Cutest women's cycling jersey ever!

Cutest women’s cycling jersey ever!

Maybe when I lose weight, I’ll splurge on that baby to celebrate.  Ha!

The good thing is that nobody else notices how weird you look because they look at least mostly as weird as you do, so there’s that.  Then there’s the crazy nutritional aspects of cycling and staying healthy…we “do” Gu  usually…

pronounced "goo" and yummier than you'd think...

pronounced “goo” and yummier than you’d think…

especially for long rides, pre-fueling nutrition & during-ride food is extremely important...

especially for long rides, pre-fueling nutrition & during-ride food is extremely important…

When Hubby got into biking, I never dreamed that we would be accumulating this kind of equipment or worrying about nutrition the way we are.  But then again, he doesn’t really “piddle” when he gets into a hobby.  *sigh*  That’s great in ways, but after hunting, fishing, go-kart racing and such, and spending thousands of dollars, it can be scary for me when he gets obsessed with something.

I’m thankful that at last it’s something that we can do together and will actually make us healthier.

1 Corinthians 13:12- For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.”

thanks for sharing your comments!

